Where are the Laborers?

broken-windowIt’s an early gloomy morning as overcast clouds hide the sun.  I’m walking across our back parking lot to deliver breakfast to some of our neighbors.  As I approach I notice all of the beer tabs, cigarette butts and empty cans around a broken table.  The stench of alcohol still lingers through the air.  I see broken shattered people, living self destructive lives, with no hope and no way out.  The lady cries out; she’s tired, one asks for prayer and another desires the peace that we talk about.

For three years, every day we are here building relationships, connecting with the unlovable and bringing Jesus to this sin sick, poor, and dirty place.  As I was walking back across the lot my heart was breaking.  It is hard to hold back the tears and the pain that fills me for these precious people.  In Matthew 9:36-38 Jesus says that the workers are few, but the harvest is plentiful. What he meant was that there were few that were willing to follow him and work for him, yet there were many who were just waiting to hear the truth.   “Pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he will send forth labourers”… that’s where I am today.  I am praying for people to join us out here on this field.  We need help out here my dear friends.

Listen, I’ve felt their pain, I have seen their despair and I can’t understand why we can’t get many to support what we do.  These people are not invisible; they are not just your drunk, your homeless guy or that nasty prostitute.  They are someone’s mother, father, brother and sister.  They are my friends and I love them because of Jesus and His command for us to love others.  When we stepped out of our church onto the mission field I had no idea how lonely it would be.  I had no idea how many supporters and pats on the back we would receive with empty broken promises or the all encompassing, “I’ll pray about it and get back to you.” Which, by the way, we all know is the code statement for “no”.

Friends, since we’ve been here I have literally seen 2 people die in the streets – what was their spiritual condition?  I truly don’t know but can only guess.  As you are reading this today please take a moment and pray for us, pray for our friends and ask God how you can help us here.

We have knocked and knocked on church house doors asking for help in feeding the hungry.  We have called and called and asked for help with clothing the children.  Three years later Pastor Felix and I sit day after day holding these people as they cry, looking into empty eyes that can’t see a way out of here.  So today I am here praying for people to join us out here on this field – God’s field to reach the broken people that Jesus Christ shed his blood for.

Can I get an “Amen” or an “I will”?

Praise Him!

Leave a Reply

