Living The Dash

1358203043_grave_dash2

 

Hubby and I just finished watching a movie, unfortunately, the main guy died in the end.  I said to Felix if I would have known it would have been about dying I would not have watched it.  He said, “Honey it’s not about dying it’s about how you live your dash.”   On June 15th my 57 year old brother died and on July 10th my 72 year old aunt died.  Our family has had a great deal of sorrow in this last month that I can’t really remember smiling this past month at all.  Ok so now the dash.   Since hubby said it’s not about dying it’s about living.  I got to thinking about how much time is actually wasted each day on pointless meaningless activities or just sitting in a recliner and watching television.    The dash – – –

What would you do if you were told you had only one day left to live; what would you do?  Who would you see?  I know I would not be sitting here in this recliner watching television.  I know I would not be wasting my days being lazy, worrying, stressing or being mad at someone.  So with the last month in mind and the pain and sorrow of losing my brother and my aunt I can’t help but think of family.  Under less than desirable conditions I’ve seen my cousins and had some good times just remembering the “old days”.   We have such a large family.  My granny had 13 kids and we have so many cousins some old and some young; some first cousins some fourth cousins but it never mattered to us … we are family.  We were close family.  So why do we allow the mundane of life keep us from spending time with family?  Why do we allow ourselves to become so busy that we don’t try to get together with those that we love?

Most of our days we live like we don’t have an end day that is going to come at any given time.  When God created us He gave us a purpose; are we living out that purpose?  What excites you deep inside?  What stirs your heart?  Lots of questions but do you have any of the answers.   I know I need to do a real spirit check.  I know in my heart that I am to live my life as full as possible.  I know in my heart that I am supposed to love on the broken and wounded women that God allows to cross my path.  I do hesitate.  I don’t think I live up to my full potential.  I sometimes worry too much.  I allow my physical body to wear down.  I sometimes want to crawl in bed by 9pm.  I allow my weariness to keep me from spending time with family.  I allow my broken past to keep me from making lasting friendships.

At any given time on any given day any single one of us could be living our last day, our last hours; what do you want to do with that time.  I feel it is time to call the ones that we love and make sure they know that they are important in our lives.  I feel it is time to start getting together with family members that we have allowed time and distance to separate us.   It’s time to learn a craft or play a sport we’ve always wanted to do.  It’s time to pursue a career path we may feel we’ve missed out on.  It’s time to forgive … let it go, get over it.  Has someone hurt your feelings or treated you badly; well, it’s time to move.

Out of the big family of 13 kids there are now 2 sisters left.  On Monday life support was withdrawn from my Aunt Lavene and she remained unresponsive until she passed at 5am on Thursday.  So in the evenings it would be hard to leave her even though she wasn’t awake.  She was so special to all of us.  Every niece and nephew was her “favorite” and she told us each time she saw or spoke to us.  She loved openly and didn’t once judge us.  She was the aunt we could tell all of our secrets to and she would never tell.  She was the aunt that would bluntly tell us what she thought regardless of the outcome.  She was definitely a feisty fireball and I am proud to be her “favorite” niece.

This Sunday my family will be saying goodbye to our “favorite”.   Even though the movie brought a lot of tears it has inspired me to live.  Not just live but leave a dash so big that a tombstone cannot contain it.  I want to make sure each and every member of my family knows how much I love them and want to be with them.  I want to love on the broken and wounded and show them the healing that comes from God.  I want to live with the freedom that Jesus died for me to have.  I don’t want to waste one second of the dash.  I’ve wasted too much.  It’s time to just do me, loud and proud of the woman God created me to be.  Sharing my life to bring hope and healing of Jesus to the broken and wounded.

Friends, it’s not about money, it’s not about fame … it’s about living to the full potential of your calling.  It’s about kissing your babies, loving on your spouse like it’s your first date, calling your friends, spending time with your family.  It’s about doing you and living that dash to the fullest.

Praise Him!!

Leave a Reply

